RAE2001 logo

Research Assessment Exercise 2001

Chairs of Unit of Assessment Panels

23 December 1998

Reference RAE 4/98

Enquiries to Dr John Rogers, RAE Manager
telephone: 0117 931 7237
e-mail: j.rogers@hefce.ac.uk

No.Unit of AssessmentChairInstitution
1Clinical Laboratory SciencesProfessor Sir John PattisonUniversity College London
2Community-based Clinical SubjectsProfessor Nicholas DayUniversity of Cambridge
3Hospital-based Clinical SubjectsProfessor L BorysiewiczUniversity of Wales College of Medicine
4Clinical DentistryProfessor Nairn WilsonUniversity of Manchester
 Joint panel:
5Pre Clinical StudiesProfessor Graham DockrayUniversity of Liverpool
9PharmacyProfessor Stanley DavisUniversity of Nottingham
10NursingProfessor Senga BondUniversity of Newcastle
11Other Studies and Professions Allied to MedicineProfessor Gerry McKennaUniversity of Ulster
13PsychologyProfessor Vicki BruceUniversity of Stirling
14Biological SciencesProfessor William HillUniversity of Edinburgh
 Joint panel:
15AgricultureProfessor Sir James ArmourUniversity of Glasgow
16Food Science and Technology
17Veterinary Science
18ChemistryProfessor James FeastUniversity of Durham
19PhysicsProfessor John EnderbyUniversity of Bristol
 Joint panel:
20Earth SciencesProfessor Peter LissUniversity of East Anglia
21Environmental Sciences
22Pure MathematicsProfessor Nigel HitchinUniversity of Oxford
23Applied MathematicsProfessor David CrightonUniversity of Cambridge
24Statistics and Operational ResearchProfessor Byron MorganUniversity of Kent at Canterbury
25Computer ScienceProfessor Ian WandUniversity of York
 Joint panel:
26General EngineeringProfessor Michael GregoryUniversity of Cambridge
31Mineral and Mining Engineering
27Chemical EngineeringProfessor John PerkinsImperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine
28Civil EngineeringProfessor Warren PescodUniversity of Newcastle
29Electrical and Electronic EngineeringProfessor Peter GrantUniversity of Edinburgh
30Mechanical, Aeronautical and Manufacturing EngineeringProfessor John SpenceUniversity of Stratchlyde
32Metallurgy and MaterialsProfessor Robert YoungUniversity of Manchester Institute of Science and Technology
33Built EnvironmentProfessor Peter BrandonUniversity of Salford
34Town and Country PlanningProfessor John PunterUniversity of Wales, Cardiff
35GeographyProfessor Richard MuntonUniversity College London
36LawProfessor Hugh BealeUniversity of Warwick
37AnthropologyProfessor Philip BurnhamUniversity College London
38Economics and EconometricsProfessor David GreenawayUniversity of Nottingham
39Politics and International StudiesProfessor Albert WealeUniversity of Essex
 Joint panel:
40Social Policy and AdministrationProfessor Susanne MacGregorMiddlesex University
41Social Work
42SociologyProfessor John UrryLancaster University
43Business and Management StudiesProfessor Cary CooperUniversity of Manchester Institute of Science and Technology
44AccountancyProfessor David OtleyLancaster University
45American StudiesProfessor Judie NewmanUniversity of Newcastle
46Middle Eastern and African StudiesProfessor Philip AlexanderUniversity of Manchester
47Asian StudiesProfessor Tim BarrettSchool of Oriental and African Studies
48European StudiesProfessor Kenneth DysonUniversity of Bradford
49Celtic StudiesProfessor William GilliesUniversity of Edinburgh
50English Language and LiteratureProfessor John BarnardUniversity of Leeds
51FrenchProfessor Celia BrittonUniversity of Aberdeen
52German, Dutch and Scandinavian LanguagesProfessor John FloodUniversity of London
53ItalianProfessor Laura LepschyUniversity College London
54Russian, Slavonic and East European LanguagesProfessor John ElsworthUniversity of Manchester
55Iberian and Latin American LanguagesProfessor Trevor DadsonUniversity of Birmingham
56LinguisticsProfessor Greville CorbettUniversity of Surrey
57Classics, Ancient History, Byzantine and Modern Greek StudiesProfessor Chris CareyRoyal Holloway, University of London
58ArchaeologyProfessor Michael FulfordUniversity of Reading
59HistoryProfessor Michael PrestwichUniversity of Durham
60History of Art, Architecture and DesignProfessor Diana DonaldManchester Metropolitan University
61Library and Information ManagementProfessor Judith ElkinUniversity of Central England
62PhilosophyProfessor David EvansThe Queen's University of Belfast
63Theology, Divinity and Religious StudiesProfessor Duncan ForresterUniversity of Edinburgh
64Art and DesignProfessor Norma StarszakownaUniversity of Dundee
65Communication and Media StudiesProfessor Philip SchlesingerUniversity of Stirling
66Drama, Dance and Performing ArtsProfessor Baz KershawLancaster University
67MusicProfessor Nicholas CookUniversity of Southampton
68EducationProfessor Sally BrownUniversity of Stirling
69Sports-related SubjectsProfessor Christopher GrattonSheffield Hallam University

[ Home | About the RAE2001 | Panels | Guidance for panel members | Guidance for institutions | Data collection | Publications | Contacts ]