RAE2001 logo



RA6a: Additional observations, Evidence of esteem

Evidence of esteem

International recognition of our research comes in many forms. Our collective reputation is evident in our ability to attract competitive research awards from a wide range of funding agencies, the invited research papers that we regularly give at national and international meetings, invited contributions to prestigious edited volumes, the number and range of visitors to the Department, our extensive editorial responsibilities and the conferences that we organise. Other specific examples of esteem, detailed below, include our contributions to the review process, appointments on national and international organizations, fellowships and awards since RAE96.

Substantial contributions to the peer review process

As a research Department, every member of full-time lecturing staff reviews journal articles as a routine activity and all promoted staff referee research grant proposals on behalf of competitive external funding agencies. Senior staff are regularly called upon as assessors for senior appointments in other institutions. Recognition of our strong external links includes: Porter as a specialist reviewer for DfID projects in Africa; Donoghue’s membership of the NERC Airborne Remote Sensing Steering Group (1995-1999); Painter as a consultant to the ESRC, advising on its thematic priority on Governance and Regulation; Simmons acting as academic evaluator of the Oxford Centre for Environment, Ethics and Society, and Burt as one of the external reviewers of Geography at the University of British Columbia (2000). Hudson’s standing in the academic community is recognised by his appointment as Chair of the ESRC Human Geography Subject Area Panel. Shennan’s expertise in geography, geology and geophysics is reflected by his election to The Royal Society Earth Sciences Committee. Rigg is an RAE panel member for Asian Studies, whilst Amin is a member of ESRC’s Research Priorities Board.

Appointment to national and international organisations

Our staff are heavily involved in a wide variety of national and international organisations. Colleagues play many pivotal roles in the RGS-IBG: Hudson as the Vice-President and Chair of Annual Conference (1999-2000); Allison’s role as Honorary Secretary (1998-2001) involves him chairing or sitting on all the major committees, many of which determine Society policy; Sadler as a member of Council until 1997; Painter on Publications Committee (1996-1999) and editor of Area until 1999. Staff are heavily involved in Society research groups at a senior level. For example: Burt and Evans as Chairs in 1996 and 1997 respectively of the BGRG; Higgitt as a member of the BGRG Executive Committee; Hudson, MacLeod and Sadler on the Economic Geography Research Group Committee as Chair, Treasurer and Secretary respectively. Bridgland and Long are members of the Quaternary Research Association executive committee. Other important national commitments include Burt as Chair of the Field Studies Council; Hudson as Chair of the Heads of Geography in Higher Education Institutes in the UK until 1999; and Donoghue as a member of the Remote Sensing Society Council. Bentley is an invited DETR panel member advising government on risk estimation of the collapse of the West Antarctic Ice Sheet. Higgitt is the UK representative on the EU INCO Concerted Action Programme and Donoghue is the UK international correspondent for the International Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (ISPRS) Commission VI. Rigg is Chair of the Association of Southeast Asian Studies in the UK and also on the British Academy South East Asia Committee. Long is National Correspondent to International Geological Correlation Programme (IGCP) Project 437 Late Quaternary highstands.

On the international stage staff are closely involved with several organizations: Allison as Secretary General of the International Association of Geomorphologists (IAG) until 1997 and appointed by the Secretary General of the Higher Council for Science and Technology, Jordan, to the Steering Committee for the Badia Research and Development Programme (1998-2001); Long as President of the INQUA Shorelines Commission for Northwest Europe; Bridgland as International Leader of IGCP Project 449 Global correlation of Late Cenozoic fluvial deposits; Amin as a Council member (until 1999) of the European Association of Evolutionary Political Economy; and Weaver as rapporteur for the Factor-10 Club. Weaver’s role includes the preparation of the 1997 Statement to Government and Business Leaders which called for a Factor-10 improvement in resource productivity for the 21st Century – now endorsed by several countries and under review by the OECD and EU. Bentley is member of the Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research ANTIME Steering Committee. Anderson is an elected Councillor of the Institute of Australian Geographers and Porter is the Regional Representative of the Standing Committee on University Studies for Africa. Blake is one of eight full members of the International Geographical Union Commission on the World Political Map (1996-2000). Shennan is a Director of the Coastal and Estuarine Research Foundation in the USA, which also publishes the Journal of Coastal Research. His leadership is shown by his position as Scientific Chair of the LOEPS element of the NERC Thematic Programme Land Ocean Interaction Study Programme (1996-1998) and as a LOIS Steering Committee member (1996-1998). Shennan is also International Secretary of IGCP Project 437 Late Quaternary highstands, the leading international community of Quaternary coastal scientists.

Prestigious fellowships and degrees

Several colleagues are the recipients of prestigious fellowships and degrees from high-ranking institutions. These include Amin’s fully-funded fellowship at the Swedish Collegium for Advanced Study in the Social Sciences and Sadler’s fully-funded visiting Research Fellowship at Macquarie University, Australia. Other appointments and awards include: Anderson to The Smuts Visiting Fellowship in Commonwealth Studies at Cambridge University for 1996-1997; Townsend, A.R. to the first UK DETR-endowed Chair in Regional Regeneration and Development Studies; Crang as Visiting Scholar at the Centre of Advanced Studies, National University of Singapore; and Higgitt as a fully paid visiting research fellow at the National University of Singapore 2000-2001. Higgitt is also the recipient of a Hwa-Ying Visiting Scholarship at Nanjing University. Hudson and Burt have both received the degree of Doctor of Science from Bristol University in 1996 and 1999 respectively, in recognition of their sustained high-level contributions to geographical research.

Awards from learned societies
Research excellence is also recognised through awards from the RGS-IBG and other learned societies: the Cuthbert Peek Award (1997) to Allison for contributions to research in hillslope and arid land geomorphology; the Edward Heath Award (1998) to Amin for geographical research in Europe; the Gill Memorial Prize (1999) to Long for research in the field of Quaternary environmental science; and the Victoria Medal (1999) to Simmons for conspicuous merit in scientific research in geography. Amin is an elected Academician of the Academy of Learned Societies of the Social Sciences (2000). Finally, Simmons’ exceptional scholarly achievements are recognised by his election first as Fellow of the British Academy and then to its Council (2000).

Users of this website should note that the information is not intended to be a complete record of all research centres in the UK

Copyright 2002 - HEFCE, SHEFC, ELWa, DEL

Last updated 17 October 2003

[ Home | About the RAE2001 | Results | Submissions | Overview reports | Panels | Guidance for panel members
| Guidance for institutions | Publications  ]