RAE2001 logo



RA6a: Additional observations, Evidence of esteem

H Sewell
HEFC RAE 2001 Panel member for UOA1 Clinical Laboratory Sciences. MRC Clinical Training and Career Development Panel Member. CRC International research site visits team member 1996-2000. MRC Strategy Committee - subgroup member on IBD and Autism 1998-2000. Founder Fellow Academy of Medical Sciences. Editorial Board: Molecular Pathology 1997-
J Carmichael
Cancer Research Campaign: Grants Committee; Targeting Trials Committee. UKCCCR: Chairman - New Technologies Group; Breast Cancer Subcommittee; Lung Cancer Subcommittee; Breast Cancer; Chairman ABO1 Protocol Working Party. Editorial Boards: Cancer Treatment Reviews; Clinical Breast Cancer. European Society of Medical Oncology - National Representative – UK. European Society of Medical Oncology – Education Sub-Committee. Advisory Committee on Cancer Registration. External Assessor for Christie Hospital Research Committee
N Kalsheker
Grant Committee: National Asthma Campaign 1996-2000. Editorial Boards: International Journal of Biochemistry and Cell Biology 1995-; Respiratory Research 2000-. Invited Speaker to international meetings e.g. International Workshop: alpha1-antitrypsin deficiency: the biochemical basis of pulmonary emphysema, Como, Italy June 1999, Keystone Symposium 1996, International Serpin Meeting, Cambridge 1999. Chairman: Scientific Committee of the Association of Clinical Biochemists 1996-1999. Member of Scientific Committee of International alpha1–antitrypsin meeting to be held in Genoa in 2001
Member of Genetics Commissioning Advisory Group 2001 —
N Russell
MRC Leukaemia Scientific Study Group Member (1994 onwards), MRC Acute Leukaemia Working Party (1999-), Medical and Scientific Advisory Panel of the Leukaemia Research Fund (1995-1998). Chairman and President Elect of the British Society for Bone Marrow Transplantation (1998-2001). Amgen Orator 1996 two week lecture tour of Australia
H Dua
Medical advisory panel of the Medical Research Council, the Iris Fund, Fight for Sight, the Keeler foundation and the Pharmacia Upjohn foundation. Member of the International Ocular surface society and the Eye Research Institute, Philadelphia. Invited keynote speaker at international meetings including the European society for vision and eye research meeting, Spain, International Ocular Surface symposium, Brazil, European Cornea congress, Heidelberg, International meeting on use of amniotic membrane in ocular surface reconstruction, Poland. National and International awards for research presentations and papers: Oxford Ophthalmological Congress Founders’ Cup Oxford 1999 and 2000.
J A Raeburn
Part-time genetic advisor to the Association of British Insurers (1996). Member of the UK government's Genetics and Insurance Committee (1999)
A M Emmerson
High quality research of direct relevance to the National Health Service in the area of surveillance of Hospital Infection has been coordinated by Prof A M Emmerson, from the School of CLS throughout the period of assessment,. This programme, beyond its UK importance, influences the direction of this type of research internationally. In recognition of this work he was awarded an
OBE January 1999. Chairman of Organising Committee of 4th International Conference of Hospital Infection Society. Plenary lecture at the 1st International Congress of the Asia-Pacific Society of Infection. Elected FRCP in 1998. Fellow Academy of Medical Sciences
W Irving
Dr Irving has been appointed to the DoH Advisory Group on Hepatitis, and is also external advisor to the Swiss Group of Experts on Viral Hepatitis, who are setting up a parallel cohort study.
J C Murray
Member, Council of the British Oncological Association. Member, Radiation and Cancer Biology Committee of the British Institute of Radiology. Member, Board of Examiners of the Royal College of Radiologists. Editorial Board, International Journal of Biochemistry
R A Robins
BSI Affinity Group in Cardiff June 1999.
Co-organiser for BSI Congress December 1998 and Sept 1999
P Woll
Royal College of Physicians Regional Speciality Adviser for Medical Oncology. Secretary of the Association of Cancer Physicians. Member of European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer (EORTC) Soft Tissue and Bone Sarcoma Group. Member of European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer (EORTC) Lung Cancer Study Group
K Morgan
Eukaryotic Gene Expression: 23 July 12 August 1997, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory — one of 16 international participants selected. Scientific Board of Alzheimer’s Research Trust.

Users of this website should note that the information is not intended to be a complete record of all research centres in the UK

Copyright 2002 - HEFCE, SHEFC, ELWa, DEL

Last updated 17 October 2003

[ Home | About the RAE2001 | Results | Submissions | Overview reports | Panels | Guidance for panel members
| Guidance for institutions | Publications  ]