RAE2001 logo



RA6a: Additional observations, Evidence of esteem

Addington-Hall Editor, Palliative Medicine
Armstrong: MRC HSPHRB Board (to 2000). Since 1996 has served on 8 MRC review or strategy committees and 3 MRC Advisory /Steering groups. He is also a member of 4 national NHS R & D committees and was advisor to the House of Commons Select Committee on Health (to 1998).
Britten: British Academy Senior Research Fellowship; MRC Medical Advisory Board.
Burney; Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences. Society of Scholars, Johns Hopkins University; MRC PMIB Board (to 1998); WHO advisor on chronic respiratory disease, International Union against Tuberculosis and Respiratory Disease (Scientific Advisory Committee); DH: Deputy Chair, Committee on the Medical Effects of Air Pollution; DETR: Expert Panel on Air Quality Standards.
Chinn: Statistical Editor, European Respiratory Journal
Cleare: BAP/SKB Annual Prize for Scientists working in Clinical Psychopharmacology.
Craig: Editor J Mental Health; Member, Parliamentary Mental Health Working Group
Higginson: Technical Advisor, US government, HRSA, Evaluation of Palliative Care demonstration projects;First visiting distinguished scholar at US Institute of End of Life Care, Duke University. Editor Journal of Palliative Medicine.
Jones: Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences; MRC HSPHRB Board (to 1998); National NHS R&D Research Training awards committee and sometime member of NHS HTA panel; Chairman, Gastroenterology group of NHS Strategic Review of Primary Care; Member; NHS Review of Primary Care R&D; London R&D Committee CMO’s Primary Care Forum; President, Primary Care Society for Gastroenterology; Chairman, Conference of Academic Organisations in General Practice; Chairman, Association of University Departments of General Practice Heads of Departments Group; Member, Committee of Safety of Medicines, Standing Committee on Pharmacovigilance and vaccines group; Editor Family Practice; Editor in Chief, Oxford Textbook of General Practice.
Marteau: Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences. MRC HSPHRB Board (to 1998); Swedish National Screening Committee; NHS National Screening Committee, Child Health Screening Sub-committee and the NHS R&D Methodology Group; Editor British Journal of Health Psychology
Møller: UK representative on EUROCARE steering group; Executive Committee of the UK Association of Cancer Registries; Chair of Cancer Surveillance Group.
Morgan: DTI Foresight Taskforce; Ageing Population and Healthcare panel; MRC MAB, Chair London Regional NHS Executive Studentships and Fellowships Committee
Ogden: Deputy Edtior British Journal of Health Psychology and Psychology and Health
Richards was appointed National Cancer Director („Tsar“) in 1999 and CBE in 2001
Rona: Visiting Professor, University of Chile, Santiago
Rudd: Chair, Intercollegiate Working Party on Stroke; BMA Book of the Year award (1997, 2000);
Smeeton: Editor The Statistician (to 1997), and editorial board to 2000.
Weinman: MRC HSPHRB Board (from 2000). Chair of BPS Division of Health Psychology (1994-97); Editor Psychology and Health. NHS R & D London Region: Project Grant funding committee.
Wessely: Fellow of Academy of Medical Sciences; Jean Hunter Prize (Royal College of Physicians); MRC Neurosciences Board (1998-), HSPHRB Board (from 2000), Health of the Public grants committee (1999-) and 3 further MRC committees. Wellcome HSR/Epidemiology Board (1996-2000); NHS R & D London Region, Response Mode funding committee; Editor, Cochrane Depression, Anxiety and Neurosis Review Group. Associate Editor Psychological Medicine
Wolfe: Book of the Year Award BMA (1997) Stroke Association R & D Committee; Director of R & D for Guy’s and St Thomas’ Hospitals; European Commission BIOMED II Review Board.

Users of this website should note that the information is not intended to be a complete record of all research centres in the UK

Copyright 2002 - HEFCE, SHEFC, ELWa, DEL

Last updated 17 October 2003

[ Home | About the RAE2001 | Results | Submissions | Overview reports | Panels | Guidance for panel members
| Guidance for institutions | Publications  ]