RAE2001 logo



RA6a: Additional observations, Evidence of esteem

All the staff returned in this submission are active in the international scientific community through reviewing papers, books and grant proposals and acting as external examiners for higher degrees.

Prof. MICHAEL A LOMAX - Committee Appointments:
Council, Nutrition Society; British Society of Animal Science. Conferences organised: Nutrition Society/BSAS International meeting on nitrogen metabolism in farm animals; EAAP International meeting on Nitrogen Retention in Farm Animals. Invited lectures: University of Stockholm; Uppsala University.
Dr DAVID HAZLERIGG - Invited participant: BBRSC workshops on Integrative Physiology 1999; Functional Genomics 2000. Awards: BBSRC ISIS travel fellowship Oct 2000.
Dr DAVID MILLER - Journal Editor:
Book review editor, Journal of Animal Reproduction Science. Editorial Board: Journal of Animal Reproduction Science. Invited lectures: Endocrine and Reproductive Biology Society, Australia.
Dr HUGH GALBRAITH - Committee Appointments: Scottish Committee, Nutrition Society. Invited lectures: Tours, France (2000); Buenos Aires, Argentina (2000), Newcastle (1997) on hair follicle biology and meat science and technology.
Dr JES R SCAIFE - Committee Appointments: Publications Committee, British Society of Animal Science. Invited lectures: Universities of Berlin, Cordoba and Uppsala.
Prof. PETER R ENGLISH - Committee Appointments: Farm Animal Welfare Council. Conferences organised: EU Leonardo Conference, Poland. Invited lectures: conferences in the USA, Canada, China, Mexico, Argentina, Brazil, Uruguay, South Africa, Zimbabwe, Ireland, Spain, Italy and France. Awards: British Society of Animal Science/Royal Society for Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Research Award for Innovative Developments in Animal Welfare.

Dr STEPHEN WOODWARD - Committee Appointments:
Forestry and Arboriculture Safety and Training Council; Forest Pathology Committee, International Society for Plant Pathology. Journal Editor: Forest Pathology. Editorial Boards: Journal of Plant Pathology. Invited lectures: University of Helsinki, Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences,
University of Göttingen.
Dr BARRIE SEDDON - Committee Appointments: Scientific Programme Committee and Convener Plant/Microbe Interactions Group, Society for Applied Microbiology. Conferences organised: Detection, Isolation and Manipulation of Soil Rhizosphere and Microorganisms (1998). Invited lectures: HRI Botrytis Workshop (1997); 36th Symposium of the British Ecological Society.
Dr EUNICE ALLAN - Editorial Boards: Plant Cell, Tissue; Organ Culture. Invited lectures: Wetzlar, Germany (1997); Jena, Germany (1999); Amsterdam (2000). Patents: European and USA Patent, Associations of antagonistic prokaryotes with eukaryotes (1997). Other: Consultancies – Highland Birchwoods (1996-98); TJ Enterprises, USA (1999 to date).

Journal Editor: Biomass and Bioenergy (editor 1997–1999; chief editor 1999 to date). Editorial Boards: Bioresource Technology (1997 to date). Conferences organised: Modelling Biomass and Bioenergy, USA (1998); Scientific programme committee, 9th (1996) & 10th (1998) European Biomass for Energy Conferences. Invited lectures: Biomass Summer School in Graz, Austria (1997); Canada (1996), Finland (1997), Sweden, (1996), USA (1998). Other: Coordinator, IUFRO Working Party “Harvesting wood for energy” (1996 to date); developed IEA Bioenergy research strategy 1998-2003; development of Shell bioenergy programme; consultant to several bioenergy companies; referee, Austrian Research Council “Kplus” centres of excellence scheme (1999 & 2001).
Dr ANDREW D CAMERON - Journal Editor: Guest editor Forest Ecology and Management “Transformation of plantation forests”. Conferences co-organised: IUFRO conference on wind (1998); IUFRO conference transformation of plantation forests (1999). Invited lectures: Tampere and Joensuu, Finland.
Dr J ALAN PETTY - Committee Appointments: Council member, FASTCo to 1998. Other: Trustee, Scottish Forestry Trust; Fellow, International Academy of Wood Science.
Prof HUGH G MILLER - Committee Appointments: President, Institute of Chartered Foresters to 1996; Chairman, UN FAO Forestry Education Committee to 1998; Chairman, Forestry Commission (FC) Research Agency Advisory Committee; Chairman, FC Regional Advisory Committee for the North of Scotland. Journal Editor: Forestry. Editorial Boards: Tree Physiology; Scandinavian Journal of Forest Research. Invited lectures: Agricultural Universities of Copenhagen, Vienna, Freiburg, Wageningen, Warsaw and Bogor (Indonesia). Other: Director Forest Industries Development Council, IUFRO Working Party on Forestry Education. Awards: OBE for services to Forestry.
Dr MICHELLE A PINARD - Journal Editor: International Tree Crops Journal 1996-1999. Invited lectures: Santa Cruz, Bolivia (1997); Novartis Foundation, London (1999); Georgetown, Guyana (1999); Gainesville, USA (2000). Other: Contributor to IPCC Special Report on Land Use, Land-use Change and Forestry; Council Member, Association for Tropical Biology (1998-2000).
Dr DOUGLAS MACMILLAN - Conferences organised: OECD/USDA Workshop on valuing rural and environmental amenities in Washington, USA. Invited lectures: USA, Malaysia, New Zealand, UK. Other: Member Land Reform Consultative Panel; adviser to RSPB, IFAW and Reforesting Scotland.
Dr R WILLIAM SLEE - Conferences organised: IUFRO International Symposium on Forestry & Rural Development in Industrialised Countries; Scottish Parliament and Rural Economy. Invited lectures: Clermont-Ferrand, France; Wageningen, Netherlands; Vienna, Austria; Norway; Finland; Romania; Ukraine, Japan and China. Other: Specialist adviser to the Scottish Affairs Committee; steering group of FORWARD project; evaluated OECD Australian Case Study on internalising externalities; invited expert to Council of Europe on Sustainable Tourism.
Committee Appointments: Executive Committee (1998-2001) and President-Elect, Agricultural Economics Society (2000-2001); RAE 2001 Panel for Units 15 to 17; Specialist Adviser to the House of Commons Agricultural Committee (1999); Chairman, MAFF Milk Task Force, Dec 2000- March 2001). Conferences organised: XXIII International Conference of Agricultural Economists, European Rural Policy at the Crossroads. Invited lectures: Brussels, Toulouse, Saskatchewan, Edinburgh, London, Warsaw, Bucharest and Paris.

Users of this website should note that the information is not intended to be a complete record of all research centres in the UK

Copyright 2002 - HEFCE, SHEFC, ELWa, DEL

Last updated 17 October 2003

[ Home | About the RAE2001 | Results | Submissions | Overview reports | Panels | Guidance for panel members
| Guidance for institutions | Publications  ]