You are in : Panels > RAE 2008 Main Panel Chairs > Sir Leszek Borysiewicz

Sir Leszek Borysiewicz

Archived information - not updated after 2008

RAE Panel A: biography of the Chair

Cardiovascular Medicine, Cancer Studies, Infection and Immunology, Other Hospital Based Clinical Subjects, Other Laboratory Based Clinical Subjects

Sir Leszek Borysiewicz

Chief Executive, Medical Research Council


Sir Leszek Borysiewicz was appointed Chief Executive of the MRC in 2007.

He was educated at Cardiff High School and attended the University of Wales. He came to London to further his medical training at Hammersmith Hospital, where he was attracted to the research environment and became an MRC training fellow to study viral immunology.

Sir Leszek was Deputy Rector at Imperial College London, having joined the College in 2001 as Principal of the Faculty of Medicine. Previously he was Professor of Medicine and Head of the Department of Medicine at the University of Wales, Cardiff.

In his role at Imperial, Sir Leszek was responsible for the overall academic and scientific direction of the college, particularly the development of inter-disciplinary research between engineering, physical sciences and biomedicine. As a physician, Sir Leszek specialises in viral immunology, infectious diseases, cell mediated immunity, virus associated malignancy and vaccine development. He is the author of reports for the World Health Organization, the MRC and the Department of Health, and was chair of the Department of Health / Medical Research Council TSE Research Advisory Group that reviewed research and coordinated the human health research strategy on Creutzfeldt-Jakob Disease.

Sir Leszek was knighted in the 2001 New Year's Honours List for his research into developing vaccines, including a vaccine to prevent the development of cervical cancer. He was a founding fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences in 1996 and Chairman of HEFCE's main Clinical Medicine panel for RAE 2008. He was a member of the Council of Cancer Research UK from 2002 to 2005, a Governor of the Wellcome Trust from 2006 to 2007, a member of the MRC Council from 1995 to 2000 and chair of the MRC's Molecular and Cellular Medicine Board from 1996 to 2000.