You are in : Panels > RAE 2008 Main Panel Chairs > Professor Vicki Bruce

Professor Vicki Bruce

Archived information - not updated after 2008

RAE Panel K: biography of the Chair

Psychology, Education, Sports-Related Studies

Professor Vicki Bruce

Head of College of Humanities and Social Science, University of Edinburgh


Vicki Bruce is a psychologist who has researched and published extensively in the areas of visual perception and cognition, particularly focussing on human face recognition. After graduating with a BA (Natural Sciences) and PhD (Psychology) from Cambridge, Professor Bruce was appointed to a lectureship in Psychology in 1978 at the University of Nottingham and was promoted to Reader in 1988 and Professor in 1990. In 1992, she moved to Stirling, where she was Deputy Principal (Research) from 1995 until 2002. She was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh in 1996, Honorary Fellow of the British Psychological Society (BPS) in 1997, and Fellow of the British Academy in 1999. She was awarded the OBE for services to Psychology in 1997, and in that year was awarded the BPS Presidents' Award for distinguished contributions to psychology. In 2000 she was co-winner of the BPS Cognitive Psychology award with Mike Burton (Glasgow) and Peter Hancock (Stirling). In 2001 her book with Professor Andy Young (York) 'In the eye of the beholder: The science of face perception' (Oxford University Press, 1998) won the BPS Book award. She was President of the British Psychological Society during its Centenary year in 2001. She was awarded an Honorary DSc by Goldsmiths College (University of London) in 2002, and by St Andrews University in 2006, and an Honorary Fellowship from Cardiff University in 2005.

From 1992-1996 she was a member of the Economic and Social Research Council (Chair of Programmes Board) and from 1995-2001 a member of the Scottish Higher Education Funding Council (Chair of Research Policy Advisory Committee and Research Development Grant panel). She chaired the Psychology panel for the UK Research Assessment Exercise in 1996 and 2001. She served as a Member of the UK Council for Science and Technology from 2000-2003. She has been a member of the Northern Ireland Higher Education Council since 2002.